Brief History of the Department of Vocational & Technical Education

The Department of Vocational and Technical Education (VTE) has three degree-programmes; Agricultural Education, Business Education and Home Economics Education. The Home Economics Education programme started with a 3-year degree programme in the Department of Education in the 1973/74 academic session. In the 1976/1977 academic session, a 3-year degree programme in Business Education was started. In the 1977/78 academic session, the two combined programmes (Home Economics Education and Business Education) formed the Department of Vocational and Technical Education. The two programmes lead to the award of B. Ed Home Economics and B. Ed Business Education. In the 1978/79 academic session, a two-year degree programme was started in the department. This was to meet the demand of the UPE as per the provisions of the National Policy on Education. With the establishment of the department, the future of NCE holders became brighter. Only NCE holders with 10 points and above were admitted for the 2-year degree programme.

In the 1978/79 academic session, post Graduate programmes were launched in both Home Economics Education and Business Education. These are M. Ed Home Economics Education and M. Ed Business Education Programmes. The M. Ed programme in Home Economics has the following options - Home Management, Foods and Nutrition, Clothing and Textiles, Child Development, and Home Economics education. The options for the Business Education programme are Accounting Education, Marketing/Distributive Education and office Education. Furthermore, the Ph. D programme for Business Education took off with the same options as those of the M. Ed Business Education.

In the 1992/93 academic session, an Agricultural Education programme was started. The department currently runs 3 and 4 years’ degree programmes for the 3 programmes. In addition to the regular degree programmes, the department has a Long Vacation Term (LVT) programme for the three programmes, leading to the award of Bachelor of Science degree (B.Sc. Ed) in Agricultural Education and Home Economics Education, and Bachelor of Education (B. Ed) in Business Education. The department has affiliated programmes for the B. Ed degree in four Colleges of Education; Kano, Minna, Zaria, Sokoto, and recently Kontagora. College of Education Lafiagi has a long vocation programme for Agricultural Education and Business Education.

In the 2006/2007 academic session, an M. Sc (Ed.) Agricultural Education Programme was started with the following options; Agricultural Economics and Extension Education, Animal Science Education, Crop Production and Horticulture Education, and Soil Science Education.